Who, The WHY, some How and a bit of the What

Image

I’m Chris Boston, a champion of public education, learning and an agent of change.

As a public educator, I am committed to student learning through improving the quality of instruction and ensuring that every professional is acting with rigorous care.  I believe we have to move from seeing ourselves as vehicles for content delivery to a role of providing guided mastery in the development of critical thinking skills while embracing and fostering creativity.

As a employee of the Upper Canada District School Board, I am devoted to our goal of achieving a 90% graduation rate.  This lofty goal is the core value that drives all our beliefs and actions to bring about achievement for ALL our students.

As principal of Gananoque Secondary School, I am committed to serve the students and community of Gananoque.  I believe that we need to strike a responsive stance while maintaining a firm grasp of our ‘why.’  Student voice and a deep and meaningful partnership with our parents and school community are essential to all that we do.  The professionals in the building from teachers to office assistants, through to custodians and Educational Assistants function as a team and do not merely exist as a ‘staff.’

While I hold high standards for our students, I hold higher standards for my professional team and myself to build a customized learning experience that prepares our students for the rigor and challenge of the 21st century.

My service comes in the form of leadership.  As a leader, I am an agent of change.  Schooling is a two hundred year old piece of technology built to prepare young people for a world that no longer exists.  We have to fundamentally revolutionize what the school experience is for our young people and the families and communities we serve.

From deep within the machine; the matrix, I am actively working to bring about change on all levels recognizing that, as Steve Jobs said, “People don’t always know what they want until you show them.”

I feel a strong sense of agency.  I inspire, I provoke, I question, I empower and I care!

I grow people.  I walk the floor and observe our current state and the current state of my team and my students.  I then draw insights and provide individuals with technical training to grow. More often, however, I move people to the more important adaptive growth through developing new beliefs and habits of mind.  I carefully create conditions through which everyone can ultimately learn to adopt an open stance and an open mindset.  From this we will all adopt new habits and routines that will allow us to realize our potential as a meaningful and relevant part of our students’ life and the life of the school community.

About gsstrojantalk

I grow people for a living and stretch myself for fun! I pursue a constant state of relentless restlessness and 'grow people' by creating conditions within which others around me choose to stretch. I want to explore the Why, How and What that I do, or believe that I do. These are musings and provocations. Oh, and I'm the proud Principal of Gananoque Secondary School, in beautiful Gananoque, Ontario.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

