So, How Now Brown Cow? STEP 2

Interested Uncertain banner

After having a firm grasp on my ‘Why,’ I can now consider, “Am I committed to making the changes I need to make?”

brilliant colleague and friend shared the idea of this continuum with me and it has served as my measure ever since.  When presented with a new idea or initiative, I reflect on how “Interested” I am  and how “Uncertain” I am.  I know that I am committed when I am just on the healthy side of terrified!  Try it.

While I appreciate the matrix models of change that place us in a quadrant, I find that 4rooms_of_changelooking out at a continuum offers more potential for it suggests constant movement, like riding a wake board.  It denotes a focus on process rather than situation.

Now that you have, 1. secured your ‘Why,’ and, 2. ‘Committed’ to change, be forewarned that their is no straight road between the “A” and “B” in the change equation.

Uri Alons Cloud LinkYou are going to enter what Uri Alon refers to as the “Cloud” of uncertainty.  He reassures us, however, that there ‘can be joy in getting lost.’

Throughout your change journey you will always have a choice:

Freedom To Freedom From Banner(credit: E. McIntosh)

About gsstrojantalk

I grow people for a living and stretch myself for fun! I pursue a constant state of relentless restlessness and 'grow people' by creating conditions within which others around me choose to stretch. I want to explore the Why, How and What that I do, or believe that I do. These are musings and provocations. Oh, and I'm the proud Principal of Gananoque Secondary School, in beautiful Gananoque, Ontario.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

