Principles For This Principal!!

Growing people, both students and staff, is complex work.  Moral Compass Of Leadership

Ultimately, I can never know with 100% assurance that a decision I
make will have the desired outcome or when that desired outcome may manifest itself.  I believe that there are, therefore, no objectively right or wrong decisions, there are only justifiable decisions.  I don’t believe that acting from a position of authority in applying rules provides much comfort to anyone nor does it strike me as leadership.  I act from principles rather than from prescribed rules.  Some rules, however, are the applications of these principles.  Don’t get me wrong; rules are important but, more important, are the values and principles that lie beneath them and hold them up.

What Do I Believe That Causes Me To Act The Way I Do?

I believe that schools,

  • should be safe places; emotionally, psychologically and physically,
  • need to lead in developing the health and well being of students; their mental health, their physical fitness and, more and more we now need to lead in developing greater nutritional health,
  • should be places where all kids feel that they belong,
  • should be focused on learning; deep learning,
  • should be the hotbed of innovation and innovative thinking,
  • should be FUN!

What Is My WHY?

Education maximizes everyone’s future freedom of choice and action.  It provides a key role in creating healthy, confident and happy young people ready to exercise their responsibilities as a member of their community.

Public Education helps feed our economy and secure our democracy.

More so than ever, public schools are the source of character development for our communities.

I believe that I have the ability to grow people and both inspire and motivate them to stretch themselves to truly maintain the relevance of our educational system in the 21st century.

90 % Number Transparent

I am proud to work for an organization that has set such a noble and lofty goal for the young people and communities we serve.  I am committed to our 90% Graduation Rate.  I am also committed to putting a face to the numbers and to learn the story of our students so that I better understand how to serve.

I will continue to pursue a better understanding
of 100% Satisfactionhow to meet the needs of the students, parents and communities we serve so that we reach our goal of having 100% satisfaction.  As expectations of schools continue to rise, I need to ensure that I provide clarity around the things we can and will do and be open and honest about the things that we won’t do or are not able to do.

Care Confidence Banner

About gsstrojantalk

I grow people for a living and stretch myself for fun! I pursue a constant state of relentless restlessness and 'grow people' by creating conditions within which others around me choose to stretch. I want to explore the Why, How and What that I do, or believe that I do. These are musings and provocations. Oh, and I'm the proud Principal of Gananoque Secondary School, in beautiful Gananoque, Ontario.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

